Published: May 2010


A Boston College Minute: The 118th Annual Fulton Prize Debate, in the Fulton Debate Room at Gasson Hall, April 14, 2010.

At issue: Whether the Second Amendment right to bear arms should be “incorporated against the states by the Due Process Clause of the 14th Amendment.” Speakers in order of appearance: John Katsulus (director of debate); Nora Lopopolo ’11 (affirmative); Brendan Benedict ’12 (negative); Ryan Malone ’10 (affirmative); and Kenneth Aruda ’10 (negative). The judges: Patricia DeLeeuw, vice provost for faculties; Charles E. Morris ’91, associate professor of communication; and Dorman Picklesimer, Jr., associate professor of communication, emeritus.

This feature was posted on Tuesday, May 18, 2010 and is filed under Boston College Minute.
Producer: Ravi Jain