The winners are

Published: April 2006

On March 31, during the 2nd Annual Baldwin Awards red-carpet ceremony, 26 movies by aspiring student filmmakers competed in 14 categories, including Best Actor, Editing, the Viewer’s Choice Award, and Best Picture of the Year. The Baldwins, named for the University’s eagle mascot, are open to all undergraduates and highlight the fine arts department’s film studies program, which offers a major or minor in film history or production, and the communication department, which offers a concentration in broadcasting.

At the ceremony, guest presenters included Academic Vice President Cutberto Garza (left, with the crew from Pisces), Fine Arts Professor John Michalczyk, Sociology Professor Juliet Schor, and fine arts faculty member Drew Yanno, as well as Kendall Mayhew ’07, Matt Wiggins ’07, members of the a cappella group The Bostonians, the cocreators of The BC—and even the Baldwin mascot. Michael Civille, a faculty member in the film studies program, emceed and Toar Winter ’93, an accomplished film editor in Boston, talked to students about working in the industry. @BC presents four of the 2006 Baldwin Award winners.

  • BEST ACTOR, A Night with Trev Dubs
    Billy Hurley ’06, actor; Frank Corrado ’06, director, editor, director of photography, sound editor, writer. (This film was also nominated for Comedy and Beginning Film and Video.) Running time: 6:06
  • EDITING and SOUND, Red Room
    James O’Meara ’05, director, editor, codirector of photography, sound editor; Harrison Wilcox ’05, codirector of photography, writer. (This film was also nominated for Drama and Cinematography.) Running time: 5:39
  • VIEWER’S CHOICE AWARD, Curb Your Enthusiasm: The Collar
    Rich Rosario ’08, director, editor, sound editor, actor, writer. (This film was also nominated for Best Actor, Comedy, and Screenwriting.) Running time: 19:03
    Jeremy Kaplan ’07, producer; Lulu Wang ’05, director, writer; Tony Hale ’05, editor, sound editor; Elaine Mak ’05, director of photography. (This film was also nominated for Drama, Screenwriting, Sound, and Editing.) Running time: 11:47

This feature was posted on Tuesday, April 18, 2006 and is filed under Videos.